109. Family Business

I’ve been dying to see Family Business for ages. Back in high school I would pick my favorite actors and directors and just write down all of their movies from IMDB and try and watch them. This gem is one that I found on that list and desperately wanted to see. Sean Connery, Dustin Hoffman, and Matthew Brodrick directed by Sidney Lumet. I could never find it. The local video stores and library never had the movie. The wonderful power of Netflix brought this to me though.

The movie was pretty good. It’s not really a caper film. The movie is more about the family relationship than anything else and I thought it did a pretty good job of telling that story. I sort of wish more time would have spent on that. The whole heist was kinda dull. I’d rather have spent less time with that and more time on seeing the main trio developed more.

I despised Matthew Brodrick in here and I think that’s a good thing. I don’t think you are really supposed to like his character or really any of them to much, but especially him. He’s supposed to be a  it of a twat and Brodrick does a great job of getting that across. Connery is Connery and does a great job. Hoffman was probably the best here though.

I enjoyed the movie, but I’m a die-hard Connery fan and enjoy most of Hoffman and Brodrick’s work. The movie balances the comedy and drama here pretty well and some things are a bit weird. The fact that thee main trio are all father and son or granddad. It’s done humorously as they kinda poke fun at their families ancestry to make it clear that they are an unlikely trio to be related. The attempt to add some thriller suspense towards the end was wasted. That seemed a bit pointless and didn’t fit with he rest of the film’s mood.

Defiantly was enjoyable and a good flick to watch. More so if you are a fan of the cast. The supporting cast is great as well.

Posted on June 3, 2011, in Movies. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

