104. Police Academy

I watched Police Academy last night. Initially I wanted to try to watch all seven of them. Have a nice little marathon since I’ve only ever seen the first one. Unfortunately that really isn’t possible. I use Netflix and only 1, 5, 6, and 7 are on instant. The rest all require a wait for a DVD which means it would take some time to watch them. Renting elsewhere is not likely and I really would rather not take the time to download them (not that I haven’t done this before). So I figured I’d watch the first one and then 5, 6, and 7 since they were available. I only made it through one and stopped during number 5. I was tired. I may just watch the others today. My ambition to watch them separately though isn’t that high.

Police Academy is once again an example of the amazing comedy films that came out of the late 70s and 80s. They were amazing. They are outrageous and totally implausible and entirely not serious. It’s why they are great. My dream is to be a film director. I wanted to be one since fourth grade. I’d really like to write as well though and that’s were my focus is on a personal level. It’s part of the reason I started this blog. To combine film and writing for practice. I have a bunch of notes written down about certain elements and components of these comedy films. I’ve even written out a few story ideas that could work, but nothing extensive. It’s a pet project of mine that I would love to develop because I just don’t see these kind of comedy films any more. Again I love the comedy films being put out today (some not all. same with other eras though.)

But back to Police Academy. When I started watching it I actually dawned on me that this was kind of like Stripes except instead of the army, the police. There are a lot of differences, but there are also a number of similarities on a structural level. Hell, they both even have the third act where the “cadets” are all plunged into real action. There’s an overweight dude. (though John Candy is superb.) You also have the hitting on fellow female offices/cadets/whatever they are. There’s the hard-ass sergeant/lieutenant and then the dumb-ass head of the academy/base. The music has links as well.

These kind of movies are ones you are either going to like it or you aren’t. It’s a particular brand of comedy and while they may have been popular when they came out I don’t actually know a ton of peers who have seen these movies. Even when some have watched the movies with me they didn’t care for them as much as I did. The absurdity was to off kilter for them for some bizarre reason. They’d rather see Napoleon Dynamite or Superbad.

Still it’s a movie worth watching and even owning. It defiantly has repeat watching quality to it, which is part of what made these kind of films as great as they are. They didn’t really get old.

Posted on May 29, 2011, in Movies. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. That is a super-peachy-keen post. Thanks for really blathering on like that! Seriously, I don’t think I could have spent more effort wishing for something heavy to fall on me to erase that nonsense from my mind!

  2. That is a super-peachy-keen post. Thanks for really blathering on like that! Seriously, I don’t think I could have spent more effort wishing for something heavy to fall on me to erase that nonsense from my mind!

Leave a Reply

