Starting Torchwood

I haven’t posted on Doctor Who yet and I may never. I always seem to be busy before and after I watch it. That and by now I’m already give episodes in and fell behind posting about it.

But let’s forget Doctor Who and move to Torchwood. It’s a spinoff of Doctor Who. I’ve heard mixed things about it. Most of what I’ve heard is that the first season blows and it improves in season 2 and the third series is really good.

I started watching it yesterday. Series one is definitely crap thus far. I don’t want to say it’s a British thing, but I seem to see the style a lot more in some British shows than American ones. It’s the whole soap opera look to the show. Not the story telling, but the way the show is shot with cameras and what not. That kind of technical crap. I don’t watch soaps (The O.C. is the closest), but I’ve seen enough five-minute clips here and there to know the visual style and it seems to be found in a number of British shows. I can’t stand the style. It annoys the hell out of me. Torchwood sadly is shot like that for the most part.

I really almost stopped watching ten minute into the first episode. The visual look was atrocious and I was ready to give up before starting. Things haven’t gotten better. THe visual effects are crap mostly. The show seems to be trying really hard to be something lie Law and Order, CSI, or any other number of cop shows. It’s not a bad idea, but it is being executed in a  horrible way so far.

I also can’t stand the long shots of Jack Harkness standing on random rooftops. There is no need for it for one and two we don’t need a thirty-second clip of him just standing watching Cardiff.

I’m going to stick with it. Mainly because I’ve heard good things about the future. That and I desperately want the source material from Doctor Who to just magically make the show better. We will see though. I’ll keep you posted.

Posted on May 25, 2011, in Television. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

