99. Look Who’s Talking

So tonight I watched Look Who’s Talking. It came up on my Netflix suggestions and I don’t think I’ve seen any of the movies from this series since I was little.

I like the movie. Granted it’s not exactly spectacular, but it’s a nice movie for what it is. One of the best things about it is that it really isn’t a “family” movie at all. A lot of the humor is rather adult, something I don’t remember being aware of as a kid. There’s a lot of innuendo, especially from the baby Mickey (voiced by Bruce Willis). The adult content packaged this way actually kinda improves the film to me.

This was back in Kirstie Alley was in her heyday and she fit the role perfectly. John Travlota was ok, but nothing really special. Could’ve found someone better probably, but it isn’t a big deal. George Segal is great and Abe Vigoda does a good job as the crazy grandpa. I’d like to praise Bruce Willis’s voice work, but I’m not sure. I mean his voice is kinda what provides a lot of the humor, but it’s not like he does anything spectacular. It pretty much sounds like Willis would recite the lines if it were in Die Hard or Hudson Hawk. It’s not that he’s bad, he’s just not really all that special to me here. It’s nice hearing him though.

Good fluffyish movie to watch.

Posted on May 23, 2011, in Movies. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

