89. Planet of the Apes (1968)

I watched the original version of Planet of the Apes yesterday. I think the last time I saw it was when I was little and the new one came out, which was 2001.

I really liked this movie. It was actually quite intelligent as far as the story telling goes and Charlton Heston’s character.  Everything visually looked great as well. I can understand people bitching about the costumes, but really they were amazing. Yes the mouths didn’t exactly move with grace, but other than that they looked fantastic. All of the acting of those actors was extremely good as well. Charlton Heston does a good job in here, though I wouldn’t say he’s amazing.

Initially I wasn’t going to compare this to the Tim Burton version, but I will. I haven’t seen Burton’s version in a while so I’m going by memory, but I liked this one more I think. Visually Burton’s may have looked better in some places, but I really liked this one. The story was better as well. The original wasn’t as action heavy either. It moved along because it was interesting, not because there is a lot of thrilling action.

Kind of a wimpy review, but I can’t really think of much to say. It was a really good sci-fi film from the late 60’s and kinda looks like a lot of those films, or the ones I’ve seen. And it is a really good movie. There’s quite a bit to it if you look for it.

Posted on May 14, 2011, in Movies. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

