78. Sorcerer’s Apprentice

Jerry Bruckheimer’s name is one that is going to get my attention. I like a lot of movies that he’s done as well as TV shows. I’m also a fan of Nicolas Cage. Sure the movies he’s been turning out aren’t as great as they used to be, but for the most part his acting is still pretty good and all of those movies weren’t complete shit.

So I never saw Sorcerer’s Apprentice in theaters. I kinda wanted to, but all the negative comments swayed me to wait till it came out on DVD. Today I saw that it was on my Instant queue so I popped it in. It wasn’t anything special. The overall basic plot and structure of the movie is boring as hell and has been done before numerous times in numerous ways. What made it bearable is the cast as well as the humor for the most part. I loved how the movie poked fun at itself as much as it did. It acknowledged where it was borrowing from other material.

The casting was pretty good. Jay Baruchel was pretty much himself and Nicolas Cage played his part well. Personally I dug his look as well. Alfred Molina was disappointing simply because of a lack of screen time for the most part. Same with Toby Kebbell, who I love from Rock N Rolla.

It was nothing spectacular as far as originality, but I enjoyed it. That’s also probably because I try to set the bar low and I just like watching movies like this at times. I don’t have to think.

I had to look up the musical Tesla coils up on youtube tonight as well. Here are two kick-ass ones.

<iframe width=”560″ height=”349″ src=”http://www.youtube.com/embed/PdrqdW4Miao&#8221; frameborder=”0″ allowfullscreen>

Posted on May 2, 2011, in Movies. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

