77. Outbreak

Alas I’m baffled by yet another film. I can’t figure out why I haven’t seen Outbreak before today. I mean Dustin Hoffman, Rene Russo, Morgan Freeman, Kevin Spacey, Cuba Gooding Jr., Donald Sutherland, and Patrick Dempsey all packed into one film that is directed by Wolfgang Peterson? How’d I miss that all these years?

I’m thrilled I watched it, because it was great. I love these thrillers in both film and books. This actually reminded me a lot of Robert Ludlum’s Covert One books, which may be why I liked it as much as I did. Personally I thought the story was good. I suppose a doomsday scenario where humans are threatened by a disease from a monkey from Africa may not be original or amazing, but it works and Peterson handles it well here.

The acting really carries this, though the story isn’t crap. But when you have the cast that I listed it is incredibly hard not to have a good movie. It happens, but I feel like the people involved in this would make it extremely hard for it to blow. Hoffman is great and so is Spacey. Really none of the cast is anything extraordinary or new. Maybe at the time, but coming from seeing it now, not so much. They were all superb however. Sutherland stood out to me though. He plays a complete asshat in this movie and it was frustrating. I love him and in this movie his character was the opposite of every role I love of Sutherland. His character has some horrible dialog and is completely un-redeemable. He just sucks and sadly Sutherland does a good job at the role.

Great thriller in my opinion. The movie takes an hour to set everything up, but it doesn’t feel quite that long. Things move pretty quickly. Unfortunately Peterson hits you over the head with the monkey being the host and constantly shows you where it’s at. The build up could have been less honestly. Of course the monkey is also extremely adorable. It’d be to easy to make it an ugly thing. You’d wish for it to be dead, where as having it being small and cute makes you want it to live, despite it being the harbinger of death.

Posted on May 1, 2011, in Movies. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

