75. Four Weddings and a Funeral

At first I thought that I had never actually seen all of Four Weddings and a Funeral. I’m not sure if I was right on that or if I had just never seen the whole thing at once. Regardless, I’ve seen it now.

I’m a fan of the UK. I love the comedies that come out of there especially. I’ve always liked Richard Curtis’s work and part of it has to do with the people he brings to his projects. Hugh Grant is the noticeable one, but these films have amazing depth with the cast and it is a reoccurring thing. The humor is always top notch in my opinion as well and those odd characters are my favorites.

So this particular film was very well received I believe and rightfully so. It isn’t my favorite of his, though. Hugh Grant is great as are the rest of the cast. I really like Hugh Grant in most of his movies. Regardless of how much an ass he might be in the real world, he is a good actor. I understand complaints about him being a one trick pony kinda thing, but I don’t see how that is a complaint. He does his role extremely well, so why do something else? Plenty of people get typecast anyways. I didn’t really care much about Andie MacDowell and don’t really know why. I actually kept thinking Julia Roberts, or someone like her, should be in that role. Then I realized Julia Roberts is actually in Notting Hill.

Anyways this is a great comedy in my opinion. The romance stuff is never anything I try to go through great pains to analyze. I feel like there is only so much you can do with romance plots, so as long as the film doesn’t go way out there or doesn’t try at all, I’m content.

Also this was for yesterday. As per my usual, I’m generally posting a day late on the weekends.

Posted on April 30, 2011, in Movies. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

