71. The Comedians of Comedy

Well I’ve seen this before, but Maria Bamford was performing at my college this evening so I felt obliged to re-watch this. I’m still not quite sure how we managed to pull off getting her to perform here, but I’m glad she did. And of course she was amazing! It was a great set for college students as well. It’s also proof that I can accomplish something with my English degree.

I enjoy all of the comics in The Comedians of Comedy and is pretty much why you should watch it. If you don’t like their stand up, chances are you won’t like the documentary.

One thing that was nice about this was that they balanced the stand up material out pretty well. You got to see just enough so that it didn’t feel like a stand up special with a few minutes of behind the scenes stuff. As good as they are as comics, I loved the behind the scenes part, which isn’t a surprise since I listen to podcasts like Doug Loves Movies and the Nerdist or even watching Craig Ferguson. Most comics and other celebrities of various kinds are actually really interesting when they are in relaxed setting. You get to see their thought process and see how smart they are. It’s just lovely to see/hear and this film catches that with these three (or four) comics.

Zach Galifianakis does appear in here, however he wasn’t there for the entire tour/movie. As much as I like his stand up, I always wonder about him. He always seems to be performing and there are times in this movie where I thought he may actually have been genuine, but I’m not sure. Either way he is another example of someone who is extremely talented and smart, as is Maria Bamford, Brian Posehn, and Patton Oswalt.

The documentary could have excluded all of the stand up material and I would have been happy. Keeping it was just a bonus.

I also watched the Live at the El Rey bonus thingy from the tour. It was just a taping of their performance there, which is good. It is not a documentary like the previous film. Just a creatively shot stand up special essentially. So if you want to see their performances watch it. Not their best, but not their worst. Still they’re great anyways.

Posted on April 25, 2011, in Movies. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

