63. My Fair Lady

The students in one of my field observations for Ed are reading Pygmalion in one of the classes so I figured I’d watch My Fair Lady again to play catch up (they watch pieces of it on Fridays, which I do not attend).

It’s a wonderful movie, if a bit long. The length however is ok, but it does drag a bit the last hour. It’s just not as riveting as the previous portion. The energy level drops drastically apart from the Mr. Doolittle’s brief return, which is a bit of a downer in its own way as well.

The musical numbers are great all around, though there were two or three that I didn’t care for much. They weren’t ones I’d listen to without the film. Freddie’s song is the worst to me. Audrey Hepburn was notoriously dubbed out of musical numbers in the film which is rubbish. The dubbing is crap in this instance. You can see failed syncing in “I Could Have Danced All Night” the best. That and Marni Nixon’s voice isn’t anywhere near Hepburn’s. I’ve caught some clips of Hepburn’s singing and it was ok. “Wouldn’t It Be Lovely” was great with her. Some of the other’s, not so much. I think the biggest fault there is her lack of vocal range. She just can’t pull off some of the high notes.

Hepburn is Hepburn though. Her singing may not be great, but her acting is outstanding. I can’t fathom why she wasn’t nominated for an Oscar. Her not singing isn’t a big enough reason to me. Rex Harrison holds up as well. I feel like he was born to play Higgins or something along those lines. He just emanates the man in the film. You want to like him, but you can’t because he’s an ass. Stanley Holloway steals the film though as Mr. Doolittle. He’s just amazing and his songs are great as well.

This is what a Rom-Com (romantic comedy) should be. It still holds up over time as well. The high schoolers seem to enjoy it and I still do. Defiantly a must see at some point. Prepare for the last hour to drag in comparison to the first two.

Posted on April 17, 2011, in Movies. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

