62. The Adventures of Priscilla, Queen of the Desert

I am currently listening to some ABBA music. I couldn’t resist the urge.

The Adventures of Priscilla, Queen of the Desert is a fantastic movie and it’s quite ironic that I’m watching it tonight. My college hosts a drag show/dance every year called Gayla and it is tonight. I forgot all about it until my roommate started grabbing his gear.

Anyways, the movie is indeed wonderful and the lead actors are excellent. Hugo Weaving is great, although he made a rather ugly woman in my opinion. Terrence Stamp was amazing as Bernadette (or Ralph) and played his role perfectly. Guy Pearce was equally as amazing and he actually played off of Stamp well. I thought those two wear a great pairing.

The scenery was wonderful as well, although I’ve never been to Australia and as much as I want to, the giant spiders scare the shit out of me. Granted small ones frighten me so it doesn’t take much with those critters.

The material was handled rather well I thought. I feel like it would be really hard to not feel for the main trio. They pretty much make it kinda hard to dislike them and really they do portray them as “normal.” The homosexual aspect of the characters is never really hit on much to me. It’s mentioned, but it’s not like there’s sex. Actually it was kinda cool to see a variety with the main three. Mitzi is supposedly in the middle. Felicia is defiantly camp or whatever term that you wish to use and Bernadette has had the operation. They aren’t really the same, which makes it even more intriguing and easier to like the characters.

As far as some of the negative criticism for sexism and racism, really? There are movies that are a hell of a lot worse. I’m certain the Hangover is one of those movies. Just because this movie is sending a good LGBT message means there can’t be any questionable aspects to it apparently. I mean pretty much anyone who wasn’t best buds with the three main characters were unintelligent, ignorant, twats. The Filipino lady wasn’t that bad to me. I mean it’s not like that portrayal was a huge exaggeration. The stereotype/image used exists for a reason. I mean if she had been a mail ordered bride that would have been horrible right? The natives weren’t portrayed negatively to me either, and that would have been the first place I’d look for racism.

It’s a great movie all around and deserves to be watched.

Posted on April 16, 2011, in Movies. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

