47. It’s Kind of a Funny Story

I liked It’s Kind of a Funny Story. The title actually is fitting. Granted it’s not groundbreaking. There are plenty of films aimed at both adults and teens that cover similar enough terrain with like characters and plot, but that’s not important. Personally I liked the fact that it showed a teen just having problems with general stress and nothing large and over the top. I’m still young (though not technically a teen anymore) and I can still relate. I still have stress with school and socializing with family and friends. They aren’t anything big or seemingly important, but it adds up. There are times when I think that everyone should have therapy so that we could all just sort our shit out.

But back to the actual film. It’s kind of a nice blend of stuff. It’s not dark and gritty, but it is real and has drama. It also has quite a bit of humor on varying levels, but I don’t think any of it was over powering, which is a good thing for this movie.

I liked the colors in the movie. It was just one of those little things I noticed. The shades of blue and white. It was just appealing and suiting for the movie, especially for the hospital setting.

The music was another small little bit that worked well. I loved the instrumental section of “Where is my mind” by the Pixies. Maybe that’s because it’s one of my favorite songs of not my favorite.

The acting is pretty good all around, primarily with the strong supporting cast. Keir Gilchrist grew on me and did a fine job. Emma Roberts was good as well. Unfortunately I had a hard time taking Jim Gaffigan seriously. I kept think of him saying bacon, but he did do a good job with his small part. Of course Zach Galifinakis is going to be the focus of some attention due to his rise in fame since The Hangover. I loved him. Personally I think he’s a great actor, especially having seen his stand-up. I think it has something to do with his ability to be the straight man with comedy. He doesn’t have to do shtick. Then again Zach seems to be a complete mystery anyways from what I’ve seen and heard outside of a movie. Still a great performance in this movie, but not what Hangover fans will be expecting.

I liked the movie, but I’m also a sucker for movies that do a good job of dealing with youth problems.

Y95QK8HWSHCR

Posted on April 2, 2011, in Movies. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

