17. Reservoir Dogs

 

I intended to watch this yesterday, but got diverted. Actually I forgot what I movie I wanted to watch (Reservoir Dogs). I’m not a huge fan of Quentin Tarantino. I haven’t watched all of his films and I haven’t fallen in love with all of them. It’s not that I think they’re bad, I just don’t think they’re as good as the hype.

Reservoir Dogs falls into the category. It’s really pretty good, but not an epic film like some people make it out to be. The biggest thing it has is the actors. It has an amazing cast and I think that is what carries the film more than anything. That and the music is pretty good. Mostly the cast though.

I mean Harvey Keitel, Michael Madsen, and Steve Buscemi are fucking God’s and thats really only half the cast. When you have that kind of talent in a film I almost feel like it’s hard to produce a halfway decent film. Even if the story is complete crap and makes no sense (not the case here) quality actors tend to make up for part of that.

So watch it. It’s worth it and you’ll be able to say you’ve seen the flick. It’s one of Tarantino’s films that I like more.

On the note of directors though quickly, I have a plan to put into effect. The Oscar’s were this weekend and after seeing Speilberg again I was reminded of why I love movies. That man. I feel in love with him when I was ten years old (earliest I remember at least). While my taste and affection has grown for others in the industry, he will always be that first person who had me hooked and who I always look to. That being said I want to go back and watch all of his movies again. I’ve seen most of them (though there are a few more obscure ones I haven’t seen) and regardless I just want to watch his history in chronological order. So I’m going to do that sometime in the near future I hope. It may be a wait till spring break.

Again feel free to provide recommendations. My Netflix queue is huge and constantly growing and I’m open to watch/re-watch films. I do love finding out about amazing films that I’ve never heard of, especially older ones.

Posted on March 2, 2011, in Movies. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

