5. Waking Sleeping Beauty and Waiting For Superman

 

Well I watched two movies yesterday, both of which are documentaries. The first one was Waking Sleeping Beauty, which is about Disney in the 1980’s/1990’s, primarily the animation department. It basically covers a lot of behind the scenes sort of stuff that was going on and what led them into the “Disney Renaissance.”

I watched this because I’m doing a thesis paper on Disney Renaissance films. That and it looked interesting. It’s a good movie and it’s easy to sit through. If you’re not interested in the material at all, then it might not work, but regardless it’s interesting. I feel like a good portion of what is covered in the film you can find out easily enough with very little research. The biggest thing is getting to watch the ‘home’ video John Lasseter is shooting on an old camera and hearing some of the people actually talk about what went on at the time or in retrospect.

Personally I love Disney movies. I think I said that on day one, but I’ll say it again. Part of it is nostalgia. I grew up watching these movies and still re-watch them. There really is a magic in them. I still watch children’s animated films. I love Pixar and watch their new releases and I’ll watch what DreamWorks releases most of the time and even Sony. I love animated films and it’s one of those things I wish I could do, but sadly don’t have the skill with drawing. Anyway, I’m writing a paper on some Disney films so I’ll be watching them repeatedly so expect to see me mention them every now and then, especially if I think of something nifty.

 

I also watched Waiting for Superman which was amazing. Regardless of how you feel about the subject matter brought up, everyone needs to watch it. It’s also an incredibly moving picture. Heartbreaking actually.

This is another movie I’ve been itching to see, but haven’t had the opportunity because it’s limited release. I don’t know if it’s been mentioned, but I’m a year a way from graduating college and with that a year away from teaching. It’s what I’ve wanted to do for a while and love it. So the movie defiantly hit me more than some people. Again regardless of politics, watch the movie.

Naturally people argue that statistics are wrong and what not. Maybe they are maybe they aren’t. Anytime a film uses ‘facts’ they get bashed about them. And really it doesn’t matter, though it kinda does. To me the point of theses films is to get people’s awareness and they do that.

Both movies are rather different from each other, but still just plain amazing and the ‘subjects’ or whatever you want to call the interviewees, are simply amazing in both films. Both are extremely personal.

Anyways, I’m not doing them justice, and I’m a bit tired, so just check into them if nothing else.

Posted on February 19, 2011, in Movies. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

